List of Prime Ministers of India 1947-2021 | Download PM of India List PDF

List of Prime Ministers Of India with Photo |  List of Indian Prime Ministers from 1947 to 2021 | List of Prime Minister of India and their Achievements | Prime Minister List PDF | List of Prime Ministers of India | Prime Minister of India List in Hindi |  List of Pradhan Mantri of India in Hindi
List of Prime Ministers of India 1947-2021

In India, the Prime Minister is the head of the ruling central government in the country. All the effective executive power rests with the council of Ministers which is supervised by the Pradhan Mantri (Prime Minister ). Article 78 of the Indian Constitution defines the duties of the Prime Minister of India. PM acts as a connection between the President of India and the cabinet while discharging his services.

Sarkari Yojana 2021 in Hindi 
Lucent GK Book PDF Download 

List of Prime Ministers of India

The list of Prime Ministers of India from 1947 to 2021 is given below.

S.NoNameBorn-DeadTerm of officeRemark
1.Jawahar Lal Nehru(1889–1964)15 August 1947-27 May 1964

Duration – 16 years, 286 days

The first prime minister of India and the longest-serving PM of India, first to die in office.
2.Gulzarilal Nanda (Acting)(1898-1998)27 May 1964 to 9 June 1964,

Duration – 13 days

First acting PM of India
3.Lal Bahadur Shastri(1904–1966)9 June 1964 to 11 January 1966

Duration – 1 year, 216 days

The slogan ‘Jai Jawan Jai Kisan’ is given by Him, during the Indo-Pak war of 1965
4. Gulzari Lal Nanda  (Acting)(1898-1998)January 11, 1966 – January 24, 1966

Duration – 13 days

5.Indira Gandhi(1917–1984)24 January 1966 to 24 March 1977

Duration – 11 years, 59 days

First lady Prime Minister of India
6.Morarji Desai(1896–1995)24 March 1977 – 28 July 1979

Duration – 2 years, 126 days

he is the oldest person to become Prime Minister at the age of  81 years old, and the first to resign from office
7.Charan Singh(1902–1987)28 July 1979 to 14 January 1980

Duration – 170 days

Only PM who did not face the Parliament
8.Indira Gandhi(1917–1984)14 Jan.1980 to 31 October 1984

Duration – 4 years, 291 days

The first lady who served as PM for the second term
9.Rajiv Gandhi(1944–1991)31 October 1984 to 2 December 1989

Duration – 5 years, 32 days

Youngest to become PM @ 40 year
10.V. P. Singh(1931–2008)2 December 1989 to 10 November 1990

Duration – 343 days

He was the First Prime Minister to step down after a vote of no confidence in assembly.
11.Chandra Shekhar(1927–2007)10 November 1990 to 21 June 1991

Duration – 223 days

He belongs to  Samajwadi Janata Party
12.P. V. Narasimha Rao(1921–2004)21 June 1991 to 16 May 19964 years,

Duration –  330 days

First PM from south India
13.Atal Bihari Vajpayee(1924- 2018)16 May 1996 to 1 June 1996

Duration – 16 days

PM for shortest tenure
14.H. D. Deve Gowda(born 1933)1 June 1996 to 21 April 1997

Duration – 324 days

He belongs to  Janata Dal
15.Inder Kumar Gujral(1919–2012)21 April 1997 to 19 March 1998

Duration –  332 days

16.Atal Bihari Vajpayee(1924-2018)19 March 1998 to 22 May 2004

Duration – 6 years, 64 days

 He was the first non-congress Prime Minister who had  completed the full term as PM
17.Manmohan Singh(born 1932)22 May 2004 to 26 May 2014

Duration – 10 years, 4 days

 First Sikh PM
18.Narendra Modi(born 1950)26 May 2014, IncumbentHe is the 4th Prime Minister of India who served India as PM for two consecutive tenures


List of Prime Ministers Of India with Photo
List of Prime Ministers Of India with Photo

Download the List of Prime Ministers of India PDF in Hindi

To Download the Pradhan Mantri List in Hindi you just need to click on the Link Given Below –

Prime Ministers of India in Hindi


HomePageIndia Schemes

Leave a Comment